Inspirational women – Bethany Hamilton

image

I first came across Bethany’s story via my hubby. He has been a surfer for years and he had heard it on the grapevine.
Shortly after I brought her book.
I read it within a week – I literally couldn’t put it down.
So I read it again, and recommended it to anyone who would listen.

For those who don’t know –
Bethany Hamilton lost her arm in a shark attack in 2003 at the age of 13.
To most people this kind of accident would put you off even going in the water again…but this girl is not like most people.
3 weeks after the accident, she was determined to get back on her board.
She is quoted as saying this –

image

She is proof that anything is possible if you put your mind to it.

Her incredible courage, strong faith and ability to get back up on the horse (or board) inspires me.
She proves to people that although accidents happen they do not define who you are.
Courage is needed and faith in yourself (not just faith in god)

image

She may have been fearful, but she never let fear stop her.
I can really draw from this, as I let fear hold me back from so much.

As you know my word for 2015 is courage.
I need to take a leaf out of Bethany’s book and allow courage to guide me out of my fear.
It is my fear of what people think of me that holds me back from being who I am.
It is my fear of loving myself that keeps me from looking at myself in the mirror.

Let’s all try to take away something from Bethany’s courage and use it to have awesome faith in ourselves

image

One thought on “Inspirational women – Bethany Hamilton

Leave a Reply

