Flaws or flawless

Good morning,

After reading the news yesterday about the leaking of Beyonce’s unretouched loreal advert, and seeing controversy that exploded from it I felt I had to write about it.

image

This photo is absolute proof that Beyonce is a normal person. We have a habit of portraying celebrities as these perfect, flawless people but in our hearts we know they are just human after all.
I have never thought if her as anything other than beautiful.
But there are people out there that feel the need to troll the situation.
To bring a person down for their looks without re -touching.

But don’t we realise that we are beautiful as Jehovah created us. He didn’t create us thinking – its OK they can use Photoshop to look better.
No, we were created in his image.
We are beautiful as we are.

We don’t need to strive for seeming ‘looks’ perfection.
The more we look at the flawless pictures of models and celebrities in magazines and adverts, the more we get the idea that this is how we should look.

So we buy the products and makeup they use, in order to grasp at the celebrity look.

But when pictures are released showing that they are humans like us with occasional breakouts and bad hair days – it makes me breathe a sigh of relief.
As it is another example to show our children, that beauty is not brought but it comes from within.

A few days ago a photo of an unretouched Cindy Crawford was released on twitter – and went viral.

image

Cindy Crawford is a beautiful woman.

She is also a mother. I think this photo gives hope to mums that when you see those photos of mums in magazines that have lost a ton of baby weight and look awesome – but make you feel, lazy and fat (yes I am totally guilty of this) that you can be almost 90% sure that they have been retouched in some way.

We must remember our bodies have carried and grown children – our bodies change yes, but they are beautiful non the less.
I look down and see my stretch marks – which I now consider my lines of hard work and baby growing.

Our purpose after having a baby is to take of the baby and ourselves – not to rush back into pre pregnancy size 10 jeans.

I am Charlotte, mum of 3, I am a size 12/14 and weigh 154 pounds. These numbers used to scare me – I even had a scary weight that I was petrified to reach.

But I am beautiful as I am.
You are beautiful as you are.
Don’t strive for perfection, there is no such thing as perfect looks.

Never believe you are not good enough. Because you are.

image

Leave a Reply

