Recipe – oatmeal raisin cookies

Hey guys,

So on Tuesday I decided to make some shortbread for a friend of ours who broke his leg.
As I got everything out I noticed I had a great deal of oatmeal lying about – so hello pinterest ☺

I found the perfect recipe, then tweaked to my own special way…otherwise known as using only stuff I have :mrgreen:

image

230g margarine (softened)
50g granulated sugar
200g light brown sugar (or dark brown ☺)
190g all purpose flour (I used plain flour)
2 eggs
240g rolled oats
140g raisins

Mix the butter and sugars together in a bowl until smooth, add the eggs and whisk on high until combined.
Put to one side.
Place the flour with the wet ingredients and mix until combined.
When you add the oats and raisins I used a spoon to mix it together – mainly because the mixture is really sticky at this point!
Once its all mixed, I put it in the fridge to sit for like 40 minutes – apparently it helps the mix not to spread too much in the oven!

After 40 minutes take it out the fridge and get your baking trays ready with sheets of greaseproof paper.
Preheat the oven to 350°

Roll the cookie dough into balls – I used a heaped dessert spoonful for each cookie.
Place 2 inches apart on the tray.
Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown around the edges…they may seem to be undercooked in the middle, but once they have been left to set they will be great!

I ate like 12 before hubby got home…they were delicious ☺

They will last at least a week in an airtight container 🙂

Enjoy!

image

Leave a Reply

