Perfect lemon muffins – you need this in your life!

Now I am the first to admit I am not the greatest Baker – you won’t catch me applying for the great British bake off any time soon.

I am limited to Victoria sponge, shortbread and cookies…nothing terribly complicated!

But then I was watching the sport relief bake off a few weeks back and they made muffins…now I love a good blueberry muffin yum!

So genius over here decides she would try to bake some 😬

Before you ask, yes! I am that lady who trawls Pinterest for everything…and I mean everything!

I found the perfect recipe, not too complicated, not too many ingredients 😊

Unfortunately the recipe I found worked in cup measurements.. I don’t work in cups…I am a grams and ounces kinda girl!

Which meant finding a place to switch measurements over to make it easier to understand for my brain!

But I did it! I also halved the recipe, because I wouldn’t be able to eat 24 muffins!

image

here is the original recipe.

Below I will add my modified weights and measurements 😊

Topping –

All purpose flour – 160g for 24 or 80g for 12
Sugar – 201g for 24 or 100g for 12
1/4 TSP of salt
Butter, melted – 113g for 24 or 62g for 12

Add the dried ingredients to the melted butter, mix together and set aside.

4 eggs for 24 or 2 eggs for 12
Caster sugar – 402g for 24 or 201g for 12
Vegetable oil – 1/2 cup (I couldn’t figure out how to change it!!)
Lemon zest – 1/2 TSP (I grated the zest of 1 whole lemon, to make it extra lemony!)
Baking soda – 1 TSP
Salt – 1/2 TSP
Sour cream – 1 cup (again I couldn’t figure out how to change it!)
Lemon juice – 1 tbsp
Vanilla essence
All purpose flour – 256g

Crack the eggs into a bowl and whisk until thick and creamy – you can use an electric whisk but mine broke!!
Add the sugar and oil, mix until creamy.
Mix in the vanilla, lemon zest, baking soda, salt and lemon juice.
Mix in the sour cream.
Then using a wooden spoon stir in the flour – the batter may be lumpy! But it’s OK, I promise 😊

Next, fill your muffin cases about 3/4 full, and top with the topping from earlier!

Don’t do what I did and over fill the cases!!
Hello spillage in my oven!

Bake for 18 – 20 minutes at about 150°c – or until a toothpick comes out clean 😊

Muffins can be kept for 3 days in an airtight container or you can freeze them.

These are delicious!!
You can thank me later 😉

Let’s bake the world a better place.

image

Leave a Reply

