FMF – news

Happy Friday all!

I started off my day to this…

image

The wonders of welsh weather never cease.

Unfortunately due to living in the back end of nowhere on top of a hill..I couldn’t get my car off the drive!

Although the kids had fun non

image

e

image

th

e

le

s

s!

Joyous (albiet soggy!) fun all round!

This week was also world book day!
Quite possibly my favourite event to dress Bella up for.

Last year she went as pippi longstocking!

This year

image

…can yo

u guess??

She was where’s Wenda from the where

image

‘s Wally (Wa

ldo) books!

Which is a new favourite for me!
Granted it’s only her second book day but still, I like to set the bar high for myself 😂

She really enjoyed getting to wear glasses like her little sister 😂
Which I thought was cute.

Alright so that’s the events of my week pretty wrapped up, and before the weekend can really begin..it’s time for five minute Friday.

You know how it goes – we get five minutes of free writing on a certain prompt – and I am joining in with kate and her linkup.

This weeks prompt – news

Ready, go.

I don’t know about you but I dread turning on the news.

In fact it has been a long time since I have actually watched the news.

It seems to me as though there are always headlines full of bad news,  sad news, acts of terrorism, war.

It is heartbreaking.

On an almost daily basis the world is filled with bad news.

I try to go out of my way to find uplifting stories, something that will make me smile.

Stories that make me feel positive that there are still wonderful, kind people in the world

This little girl, has cancer and she used her make a wish to clean up city parks in Kansas city (here) she is inspirational.

A soup kitchen in Kansas city has a restaurant style set up – to treat the homeless with the dignity and respect they deserve (here) – this is a wonderful thing they are doing, everyone deserves respect – homeless or not.

A couple in Nevada have opened a pizzeria so they can give jobs to people with disabilities (here) this story warms my heart. They have done a truly beautiful thing.

image

When we view the news we are constantly bombarded by terrible things, haunting images.

But if you look hard enough you can find the good news.
The wonderful stuff that fills your heart with warmth and love.

The positive opposite to the negative images that the media feeds to the world.
We are at a point now where when we think of the news, it is viewed in a negative way.

But I will keep trying to find the good (hidden) news in the world.
I refuse to live in a world where all the news we are given is presumed to be dark.

Be positive. Let in the light.
Let the happy news shine through.

image

8 thoughts on “FMF – news

  1. Yes, yes, and more yes. LOVE your FMF spot. I am awaiting our yearly spring snow here in Colorado and your pictures made me ache for it. Crazy huh?

    I need an awesome camera, or lessons, or both. Your pictures are incredible.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoa, that looks like some serious snow! I guess I should stop complaining about our Southern CA temps now… it’s no where nearly that cold. I enjoyed reading the “positive news stories” you outlined here, and thank you for the reminder to “let in the light”. (Your FMF neighbor #61)

    Like

  3. The girls are so cute! Also, I totally get how you feel about the news. My major in college was broadcasting and I totally understand how you feel about it all being bad but someone has to tell it. The good news is that they are inspiring stories out there , just like the ones you discovered. Thanks for sharing !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

