The big 3-0 • what have I learned in 30 years?

It’s Monday!

and it’s the final day of the school holidays… Finally!

You may have noticed my absence for the last week, but I had 3 very poorly kids with viral infections!

One after another after another 😢 then poor Ariana got an eye infection – because apparently she doesn’t have enough eye troubles!

Oh did I mention she had her first eye appointment with her glasses – turns out she still can’t see well though her left eye with her glasses on 😢 if was the first time someone mentioned eye surgery before.
I am not going to lie it scared me.
It never occurred to me that her eyes were that bad you know?!
But she has eye patches now to try and strengthen it – I am literally praying it works!

Watch this space for updates.

Alright, so I don’t celebrate birthdays as part of my religious beliefs – but tomorrow I turn the big 3-0 and I wanted to write a post about stuff I have learned over the years –

Nothing quite like getting old to make you reminisce lol!

image

Born in the 80’s, raised in the 90’s

80’s the decade of big hair, shoulder pads and power suits for women.

90’s the decade of shell suits, convenience food and nirvana.

I recall wearing patterned leggings and I was kind of the Queen of fluffy jumpers for several years.

I also recall culottes.. man who remembers those?!
Essentially shorts that look like a skirt!
Man my mum put me in some awesome stuff…😒

I am also pretty sure I used to wear stick on earrings, mainly because my mum wouldn’t let me get them pierced like my friends 😒

So I guess number 1 on my list would be –

1. To appreciate your parents
This one is a no brainer for me at least. When you lose a parent at a young age it makes you truly appreciate the family you have left

image

.

I also recall getting £1 pocket money, and only being allowed sweets on Friday.
Getting to go bike riding alone on the weekends.
Playing rugby in the back fields…yea I grew up with 4 brothers!
Having water fights with buckets full of water.
And when you had dinner, there was no meal options.. It was like it or lump it!

I remember making friends in primary school and thinking they would be friends forever!

My 2nd thing on the list would be –

2. You can count your true friends on 1 hand
This is a biggie for me. In fact I have heard this many a time in my life. But I can hand on heart say this is so very true.
Those who I call my friends are those I trust. Those who are honest, kind and decent.
During my school years I found myself surrounded by those who would do me harm and hurt. Those who felt they could toss me aside, that I didn’t matter.
But it took me a long time to realise they weren’t my friends.

image

Those are the biggies.
Here is what else I have learned –

• life is better with love in it
I never felt as though I deserved love. But now I have it, I am so incredibly grateful. Life is a whole lot better when it is filled with love – whether it be to another person, loving yourself or loving life or all 3..we all need a little love.

• there will be moments where you think that your problems are so big and consuming
I remember when we were first married and brought our first house, we literally had no money. Money would go in and straight out on the mortgage, which left none for food. But that was 8 1/2 years ago now, we are in a better place 😊 problems shall pass!

• life is better with kids
Don’t get me wrong it is one of the hardest things I have ever done, but incredibly fulfilling.

• you can do anything if you put your mind to it
Yes you can!

• you are good enough, and worthy

• always read the book before watching the movie
Nuff said!

• money doesn’t buy happiness, just things

• you deserve love

• life is better with pasta
Pasta is my life!

• all those things you want to do, you should do them

• travel is good
I have been more places than I ever thought I would

• cereal dinner is an acceptable thing

• be good to yourself

Those are my pearls of wisdom!
Do you have any?

image

Leave a Reply

