FMF – weak

Yesterday was a pretty tough day.

It was 27 years since my dad passed away.

Every year that passes gets harder not easier. Yesterday was full of memories and flashbacks.


So I decided to push back five minute friday, because my brain and heart just weren’t up to the task.

I am still not feeling good today, but I am here all the same.

Ready and willing to write. Because sometimes…Ok most times writing helps.

As you know I am joining in with kate and her linkup of fab writers, for five minutes of free writing… Remember no editing!

This weeks prompt –


Ready, set, go
Well this word means a huge amount to me this week. I feel physically weak. Like I am missing some important part of my being.

My dad is missing from me. 

He has been gone for so long, but my heart feels like it is missing a piece.

My heart is weakened by the loss. Broken.

I may feel weak without him. But my dad was far from a weak man.

He was so strong. So brave. So courageous.

People will often ask me what happened.. Curiosity I guess.

I tell them he died a hero.

He wasn’t a police officer, a fireman or a paramedic.

He was a normal guy, who wanted to help someone in trouble.

He did and he saved lives. Because it was the kind of person he was.

He was a very brave man.

I feel positively weak in comparison.

Even now after all I have been through and put myself through.

But when I think hard about it and shed light on my past I realise that I am strong.

I am not as weak as I think I am.

When I am weak, then I am strong.
Stop.

4 thoughts on “FMF – weak

Leave a Reply

