Blog swap day

Good day to you all. So today is blog swap day. I spent most of the day panicking that I would have nobody to swap with and then the lovely Bess from bessbag.blogspot.co.uk replied to my message! Phew!!
So I hope you enjoy her lovely creative post.
photo 1 diy word art pillow
Hello lovelies!  This is Bess of Bess’ Bag blog & I’m so excited to be guest posting here at Inside Charlotte’s Mind today!  Loving the new design, Charlotte!  Makes me want to spruce up my blog ASAP.  The blogging community is such a unique thing – Charlotte & I live an ocean apart, & would likely never meet {though I have actually visited Wales & she’s traveled to America}, but through the blog world these unlikely friendships can bloom & distances can feel shortened through the Web.  So, here I am today {while Charlotte’s over at Bess’ Bag} to share whatever we feel like.  I’ve been aching to share a DIY project again, but the “Blog-tember Challenge” has been taking up most of my blogging schedule.  So, today I’m going to share how to create your own DIY word art pillow.
 
photo 2 diy word art pillow
 
I’m using a thrifted faux-snakeskin throw pillow & about 2 yards of velvet trim {if you have a larger sized pillow you will likely need additional trim}.   {TIP: vinyl-like pillows (like my thrifted one) are quite forgiving with any low heat hot glue mistakes.}  First, decide on a word that has meaning for you {remember it has to fit on your pillow}.  Second, start laying the trim out & rehearsing where & how it will go to spell your word.  Once you’ve got a plan, start by folding the edge of the trim under & hot gluing {to create a cleaner “hemmed” edge}.  Then, taking small sections at a time, begin to carefully hot glue your trim down.  When you get near the end, again fold the edge under & secure with hot glue to create a “hemmed” edge & finish gluing down.  There you have it, a perfect way to add something new & special to the place you call home!
photo 3 diy world pillow
 
Thanks so much for letting me share today!  Be sure to stop by Bess’ Bag to see what Charlotte has to say!
 
Love,
 
-Bess-
 
P.S.: What word would you put on a pillow?

4 thoughts on “Blog swap day

Leave a comment